Faithinflipflops

Living simply, loving deeply!

God is For Me

Last spring, I led some of the ladies at my church through Beth Moore’s Stepping Up Bible study. It was a study on the Songs of Ascent found in Psalms 120 – 134. As I am preparing to go to Israel in 33 days (I’m so excited I could jump out of my skin!!!) I thought it would be good to study these Psalms again. These particular Psalms were songs that the Jewish pilgrims would sing on their way up to Jerusalem for one of the three religious feasts that took place throughout the year.

Ascending

Ascending

As I pulled out my notes from this study, I found the psalms that I had written based on the corresponding Psalms we were studying. I thought I would share a few of them as I continue my preparation for my own pilgrimage to Jerusalem.

God Is For Me (Response from the study of Psalm 124)

If God had not been on my side – (and He is on my side!!!)          I will say it again, if God had not been on my side when the enemy of my soul and my own sinful desires afflicted me,

I would be lost – I would be miserable –                                                 I would be drowned by lust and addictive behaviors                       I would be battered and worn.                                                                  I would be an old soul –                                                                                I would have been swept away in waves of anger, depression, and remorse.

But thanks be to God

He has not allowed me to be ripped to shreds by the enemy or by my own stupid, sinful choices.                                                        He showed me the way out -

I am free

My help came from the Lord, the Maker of the Heavens and the earth.

Amen!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “God is For Me

  1. Pingback: Prayer for Vermilion: Response to Psalm 122 | Faithinflipflops

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,380 other followers

