Faithinflipflops

Living simply, loving deeply!

Psalm of Gratitude: Response to Pilgrimage to Israel

I just returned home two days ago from a pilgrimage to Israel. Words cannot express all that I experienced. I am still extremely jet-lagged and still processing all that transpired on this pilgrimage. I journaled every day I was there and I am sure there are many more blogs to come out of this trip. On my last day in Israel, I wrote a Psalm that captures my gratitude for all God did in me during this amazing pilgrimage.

Heidi’s Psalm of Gratitude

 God, You have been so good to me!

I asked, “God, would You please meet me in Jerusalem?

In the land You walked and called home while on Earth before You

made Your home in me?”

And Jesus, how You have met me!

 You have provided my way for this pilgrimage,

To appear before You in Jerusalem,

You have strengthened me,

You have delivered me from feelings of abandonment,

You have healed me.

 

When I turned my face to the wall,

Like You told me to do,

You met me!

You have filled me afresh with the Holy Spirit

You have brought me back to the Cross-and the empty tomb.

 

How can I not praise You?

How can I not commit myself afresh to You?

To holiness, to the study of Your Word, to prayer,

To loving people, to the calling You have on my life?

 

And as a sign of my fresh commitment to You

Under the Jordan River I went

When I arose out of the baptismal waters

Joy filled my heart

Laughter was on my lips

The joy of the Lord truly is my strength!

 

Forever may I praise and worship You!

And proclaim to the nations what You have done for me! Amen!!!

Praying at the Wailing/Western wall. Such a powerful moment for me.

Praying at the Wailing/Western wall. Such a powerful moment for me.

Praying before being baptized in the Jordan.

Praying before being baptized in the Jordan.

Being baptized

Being baptized

The empty tomb

The empty tomb

In the empty tomb.

In the empty tomb.

Taking communion in front of the empty tomb. Powerful time.

Taking communion in front of the empty tomb. Powerful time.

I so believe this!

I so believe this!

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Psalm of Gratitude: Response to Pilgrimage to Israel

  1. Oh Heidi! Your Psalm is so tender. It brought me to tears reading of your rich experiences in Israel. God will use your willingness to serve Him wholeheartedly to fashion you into exactly who He has designed you to be. You are a precious girl, and VERY loved! Blessings!!

  2. Betty Jo on said:

    How blessed you are!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,399 other followers

