Faithinflipflops

Living simply, loving deeply!

Heidi’s Top 30 Songs!

I am an avid Facebooker (don’t know if that is something to brag about or seek professional help for)…and for November I decided that I would do the 30 days of Thanksgiving. Each day you post something that you are grateful for. On day 3 I posted that I am thankful for music. I believe that God made music the language of the soul. The right song at the right time can unlock the hardest and saddest of hearts! And the right song can bring joy! So for fun, I thought I would list my top 30 favorite songs of all times. This was not an easy task! I started with about 80 songs and whittled it down. I was originally going to do my top 10 but that was impossible (I have over 1500 songs on my computer). The top 10 are actually my favorite top 10 songs of all times…after that they are in no specific order! (I kind of feel like Casey Casem!) Feel free to comment on what your favorite song of all time is!!!

  1. God With Us – Mercy Me (pretty much sums up my heart towards Jesus. It is such a powerful and meaningful song.)      
  2. Badlands – Bruce Springsteen (favorite quote is from this song! “It ain’t no sin to be glad you’re alive”. I could have a top 20 list of Bruce songs all by itself. I had to eliminate about 5 from this one! 🙂 )
  3. Home – Rich Mullins (I’m not planning on dying anytime soon but this is the song that I want played at my funeral. Such a song of hope.)                                    
  4. Tonight is what it means to be young – Fire Inc. (From an obscure movie of the 80’s Streets of Fire…it reminds me of how simple life was as a teen-ager. And anything Jim Steinman produces is amazing!)
  5. The Love of God – Rich Mullins ( “the reckless raging fury they call the love of God”. He died way too young!)
  6. Because He Lives – The David Crowder Band (one of my favorite hymns. We sang it a lot when I first got saved in the 80s.)
  7. All of the Words– Kutless (heard this worship song for the first time on an episode of Scrubs…One of the best worship songs ever!)
  8. Make My Life a Prayer to You – Keith Green (He died way too young in a plane crash. His book “No Compromise” was one of the most influential books on my walk with Jesus). 
  9. Even Now – Barry Manilow ( I am a Fanilow and am not ashamed of it. Did you ever have a song that captures the one relationship that you wished would have worked…this is it. Sigh….)
  10. Proud Mary – The Tina and Ike Turner version (Such a fun, upbeat song. Great to run to).
  11. Only Time Will Tell – Asia (Can you tell I really liked the 80s?)
  12. Everything – Alanis Morissette (heard this song at the right time. God really used it to minister to me.)
  13. Saved – Bob Dylan (Third Day remade it but I prefer the original)
  14. Desert Moon – Dennis DeYoung (a great song about growing up)
  15. Such a Night -Elvis Presley (My mom was obsessed with Elvis…I know his birthday and day he died…this is my favorite Elvis song).          
  16. Layla – Eric Clapton (the ending is timeless!)
  17. 21 Guns – Green Day
  18. In Your Freedom – Hillsong
  19. God Bless the USA – Lee Greenwood (My brother Jerry’s favorite song…played at his funeral)
  20. Space Oddity – David Bowie (another one I could a list of just his songs. In high school, we would have a David Bowie birthday party – his is 2 days before mine).
  21. Is Nothing Sacred – Meatloaf (Great song about commitment.)
  22. Why Should Love Be this Way – Michael Stanley Band (You cannot grow up in Northeast Ohio and not have a Michael Stanley Band song!!!!)
  23. Girl Named Tennessee – Needtobreathe (Fun song)    
  24. Shattered – O.A.R. (another song that I heard at just the right time.)
  25. Jessie’s Girl– Rick Springfield (There is a legend in my family that has its origins in this song. Makes me laugh.)       
  26. You Light Up My Life – Debby Boone (This song reminds my sister Penny and brother Bill of one of the most embarrassing days of their lives.)
  27. Love Song – Third Day (They also could have their own list of top 10 songs. This is my favorite)
  28. We are the World – USA for Africa (Reminds me of the fun parties we had during middle school and my closest friends, Jen Molter and Jen Ward.)
  29. Pride (in the Name of Love) – U2 (Music that actually means something, that has a conscience).
  30. Never Once – Matt Redman (Began with worship, ends with worship. Never once has God ever let me down or left me alone. He is good!). 
Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Heidi’s Top 30 Songs!

  1. Carey D. Henderson on said:

    Good songs!!! Little disappointed you don’t have any Beatles songs on the list tho *wink*…did some of these songs you discover through SongPop??? 🙂

  2. I like it!

Leave a Reply

