Faithinflipflops

Living simply, loving deeply!

The Leaf

IMG_0019

As I was leaving my house yesterday to go to a Christmas dinner, I noticed this leaf. It had somehow gotten wedged in a crack in my sidewalk. It struck me. I hurriedly put my dish for the dinner in my car and went and grabbed a camera and took a few photos. I went to my party and came back home and it was still there. Standing straight. Proud. Resilient. This evening as I type and the rain falls down, the leaf is still wedged in the crack. I wonder how long it will stay there. Will it be there when I wake up in the morning. And why am I so fascinated by this leaf?

IMG_0021

Maybe its the fragility and strength that the leaf represents. Or that it is standing when it really should not be. And it is perfectly shaped and beautiful.

I am a lot like that leaf (not the perfectly shaped part 😉 ) I know how fragile and weak that I am. But even in my fragility and weakness I know that I am strong. I have been able to stand even when difficult challenges  have come my way. The Apostle Paul writes in his 2nd letter to the Corinthians “And  He (Jesus) said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities,  so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” (2 Corinthians 12:9) No matter what has come my way…God has helped me stand strong like that crack in the sidewalk is helping the leaf to stand. But unlike the leaf, I know that God will not let me go.

When the wind and rain of life buffet me, I may bend and feel like breaking but I won’t. His strength is enough. It shines through my weakness. His power rests on me.  And I guess that is why I am so enamored by the leaf. God’s power and strength shines through that leaf standing in the sidewalk. The leaf represents HOPE and assurance that God has not and will not ever let me go.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “The Leaf

  1. grace godwin on said:

    Thanks Heidi! Very fitting for me tonight.Blessings!Grace

    Date: Tue, 11 Dec 2012 03:58:25 +0000 To: grace_godwin@hotmail.com

  2. Shannon on said:

    Thanks Heidi……needed this:)

  3. I needed to read this today. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

