Faithinflipflops

Living simply, loving deeply!

Dessert First!

I lead our women’s Bible study at church. This session, we are doing Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts. In her book, she encourages women to keep a gratitude journal of 1,000 gifts..a 1,000 gifts from God. This exercise is to take place over a year and the gifts are not to be what He has already given you but the daily gifts He so graciously bestows. A thankful heart is a full heart. A thankful life is a full life!

One+Thousand+Gifts

I went out and bought a journal to keep track of my 1,ooo gifts. Not just any journal but an orange one. Bright and plain. Kind of like me! 🙂 It has been so good for me and my walk with Jesus.

My plain orange journal and my Bible!

My plain orange journal and my Bible!

Here are some of my gifts that I have listed in my bright orange journal:

3. The sound of wind chimes outside my window while I sleep.

8.The Christmas lights at McGarvey’s Landing as they dance on the Vermilion River.

14. Cake that tastes like summer (coconut).

19. Game night with my nieces and nephew. 

26. Finding chocolate in the church cabinet (twix, snickers 🙂 )

37. Praying with people at the altar.

Today I listed #45 of 1,000 gifts.

February 1 will mark 11 years that I have been on staff at my church. That is a long time to be at one place in ministry especially as an associate pastor. I am very blessed to be ministering with the pastoral staff that God has assembled here. Pastor Jim who is my boss/pastor/friend is a good man and a great leader.  He is worth having his own blog but I will wait until it gets close to raise time before I write it 😉     (I’m kidding)

This afternoon, we both attended a ministerial meeting that included a luncheon. As we were getting up to go in the buffet line, Pastor Jim went straight for the desserts. Totally skipped the sandwiches and the chili and the chips. He was a man who knew what he wanted….and he got it. A beautiful looking piece of cherry pie. A feeling of gratitude overwhelmed me. I know that sounds weird but it did. It really speaks of why I have been able to work with him for 11 years. He is a leader who is not afraid to break the rules and take risks for Jesus. He doesn’t always do what’s expected of him (he usually does more).  He enjoys life and people.  So here was my #45 in my gratitude journal:

My entry today.

My entry today.

I am so very glad to be serving alongside a leader who goes for the dessert first.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Dessert First!

  1. What a beautiful idea! Keeping track of all the ways God has blessed us keeps our focus on Him and off of our circumstances. It also can be a wonderful way to build our faith as we recognize and acknowledge all He has done for us because it reassures us that He will continue to do so in the future. Thanks so much for sharing. Blessings to you and your ministry!

  2. Luci Williams on said:

    Thanks for sharing Heidi. It was good as always. I too have to admire the person who goes for dessert first! I have often said that the only reason I eat food is so that I can justify having dessert 🙂 I love the idea of a thankful journal and plan to begin one as soon as I can get to the store to buy a journal! I will also look for this book- what a great recommendation. I am grateful for you my dear friend and how you inspire me to press in to all that God has for me! love you!

    • I remember you telling the story of driving to Bible college for the first time…you ate chocolate kisses the whole way! That is how I knew we would be such great friends! And how you have stayed so slender is beyond me!!!

      And you are such a story teller, you should really think about blogging!

  3. Carey D. Henderson on said:

    Dessert first…mmmmm…now that’s the way to live life!!! Now I want some choclate cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

