Faithinflipflops

Living simply, loving deeply!

Take the Long Way Home

In my previous blog, I wrote about the book, One Thousand Giftsthat our women’s Bible study is currently reading and how I am keeping a journal of 1,000 gifts that God gives me throughout the year. I have made a conscious decision to slow down and look daily for gifts that God has given me. I do not want to rush through life. I want to live this one life well!

This past Saturday, I was driving home from doing some errands for the church. I was incredibly tired and sore  from a youth function we had  the night before. I just wanted to get back to the church, unload, and go home and take a nap. But  I decided to take the scenic (and longer) route home in order to not be in such a rush. It was a beautiful, sunny, mild January afternoon. As I was driving along Route 6 which winds along the Lake Erie waterfront enjoying the view, I felt the tiredness ebb away. I came along a stretch of the road that I have driven hundreds if not thousands of times before and saw something I had never noticed before…a Cross soaring high above the lake!

The Cross

The Cross

I drove past and contemplated whether or not to turn around. I had a car to unload and things to do but I felt this urgency to turn the car around and go back. So I did.

I put the picture of the Cross on my Facebook page with the caption “This captures freedom to me.” And it does. Seeing the Cross soaring above the Lake evoked in me such a feeling of freedom in my soul. Words cannot express why…it just did.

The Bible teaches how God has revealed Himself  through His creation that He has made and through His Son Jesus Who died on the Cross for us. And here along Route 6 in the small town of Vermilion on Lake Erie on a beautiful, sunny Saturday afternoon, the Cross and creation collided for me. The two ways God has revealed Himself to mankind. The ways God has revealed Himself to me.

In the Gospel of Luke, Jesus stands up in the Temple and reads from the book of Isaiah proclaiming His purpose in coming:

The Spirit of the Lord is upon me,

because he has anointed me

to proclaim good news to the poor.

He has sent me to proclaim liberty to the captives

and recovery of sight to the blind,

to set at liberty those who are oppressed,

to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor. (Luke 4:18 -19)

Jesus came to set me  free. Apostle Paul says “It is for freedom that He has set me free.” The apostle Peter admonishes us to “live as people who are free…” Freedom comes through the Cross.

And as I stood on the edge of the cliff looking at the Cross and Lake Erie…the two things that symbolize freedom to me…I was so overwhelmed with love and gratitude for the life God has given me. It has not always been easy or perfect. But I have this one life and I want to make it count and appreciate every moment.

I am so glad I took the long way home!!!

The Cross and Creation (Lake Erie)

The Cross and Creation (Lake Erie)

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Take the Long Way Home

  1. “One Thousand Gifts” is in my top 5 books of all time. It has transformed my point of view and I’m on the 3rd reading. So happy that you are counting gifts too. Doesn’t it make all the difference in the world? Blessings to you!

  2. Jodi Whidden on said:

    Wow, Heidi! Thank you for posting this. What great reminders…..I am amazed at God’s goodness!

Leave a Reply

