Faithinflipflops

Living simply, loving deeply!

Prayer for Vermilion: Response to Psalm 122

In my last blog, I wrote about the psalms I wrote as a response to a study I had done on the Psalms of Ascent. Tonight I thought it was fitting to post the one I wrote for my city. I live on Lake Erie in a small town that has a river running through the middle of it. This winter has been brutal. Due to a recent warm-up and lots of rain, we are currently under a flood warning for our river.

Ice jam at a section of the Vermilion River.

Ice jam at a section of the Vermilion River.

We are actually laying on the frozen Vermilion River. I kayak at this actual spot in the summer.

We are actually laying on the frozen Vermilion River. I kayak at this actual spot in the summer.

What the Vermilion River looks like in the summer! Amazing!

What the Vermilion River looks like in the summer! Amazing!

Vermilion River in the fall

Vermilion River in the fall

Standing on frozen Lake Erie with the beach behind me.

Standing on frozen Lake Erie with the beach behind me.

Same lighthouse in the summer

Same lighthouse in the summer

DSCN1011

Haha! I told you it has been a brutal winter…eyebrows and eyelashes frozen!

DSCN0126 DSCN0129

frozen Lake Erie

frozen Lake Erie

IMG_2758

Lake Erie in the summer

Prayer for Vermilion

I was glad when God brought me back to Vermilion.

I am glad that my feet are planted here.

Vermilion is a beautiful place, with beautiful people

that needs God’s help to face the challenges she faces –

social, economical, and political.

I pray for the peace of Vermilion.

I pray for those that belong to You that live in Vermilion;

Prosper them, keep them, protect them.

May peace be within her borders

May peace be within the walls of our church

Because of the name of the Lord

I will seek and pray for the good of Vermilion.

Amen!

Summer will be here soon!

Summer will be here soon!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

