Faithinflipflops

Living simply, loving deeply!

Veteran’s Day: WWII in Pictures

One of the greatest treasures my dad left behind were his pictures he had from World War II. He served in the army during World War II. I wrote about him in a previous blog  Lessons from the Greatest Generation. I came across them again a few months back. I thought I would share some of them in honor of my dad and Veteran’s Day. He wrote on the back of many of his pictures. I wish he would have written on more of them! I hope you enjoy these pictures as much I do. It captures a piece of my dad’s life and many soldiers from WWII.

DOC079

My dad is the middle guy in the top row.

My dad is the middle guy in the top row.

DOC076

Written on the back of the picture "Ray and myself. These hats we have on are our oversees caps.

Written on the back of the picture “Ray and myself. These hats we have on are our oversees caps.

My dad...I think in Italy

My dad…I think in Italy

This is my favorite picture. A soldier reading a letter from home.

This is my favorite picture. A soldier reading a letter from home.

On the back my dad wrote "Close up. Taken in Venice."

On the back my dad wrote “Close up. Taken in Venice.”

DOC060

"Two drunks. Jack & myself" is what my dad wrote on the back of this picture.

“Two drunks. Jack & myself” is what my dad wrote on the back of this picture.

My dad

September 10,1944 written on the back

my dad is on the left and his best friend, Ollie on the right. They talked every week on the phone until Ollie passed away 5 years before my dad.

my dad is on the left and his best friend, Ollie on the right. They talked every week on the phone until Ollie passed away 5 years before my dad.

DOC053

My dad in Rome or Venice. And note the kids photobombing. 🙂 Photobombing has always been a thing

"Note - myself milking the cow. We very seldom get fresh milk but when we run into a milk cow we help ourselves." What my dad had written on the back. You can see him milking the cow.

“Note – myself milking the cow. We very seldom get fresh milk but when we run into a milk cow we help ourselves.” What my dad had written on the back. You can see him milking the cow.

September 1944. And of course my dad had a dog.

September 1944. And of course my dad had a dog.

Gun Crew was written on the back along with every person's first and last name and where they  were from.

Gun Crew was written on the back along with every person’s first and last name and where they were from.

"German prisoners. I am sitting in the front." Written on the back.

“German prisoners. I am sitting in the front.” Written on the back.

"German Prisoners"

“German Prisoners”

00000001

00000001

My dad

My dad

I think this was in Northern Africa

I think this was in Northern Africa

DOC064

My dad and Stan

The only colored picture my dad had. Probably the Alps. On the back was his dad's address...

The only colored picture my dad had. Probably the Alps. On the back was his dad’s address…

DOC066

Another favorite. On the back it says "This is one of the dinkiest they have over here. They say when this train looks as big as one in the States it's time to go home."

Another favorite. On the back it says “This is one of the dinkiest they have over here. They say when this train looks as big as one in the States it’s time to go home.”

Dated September 10, 1944 "myself laying in the haystack."

Dated September 10, 1944 “myself laying in the haystack.”

00000001

Another northern Africa pic.

00000001

My dad. Never saw him smoke a pipe in my life!

My dad. Handsome. Never saw him smoke a pipe in my life! Cigarettes on the other hand 😉

Florence, Italy

Florence, Italy

kitchen

kitchen

Cold. Alps again I believe

Cold. Alps again I believe

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Veteran’s Day: WWII in Pictures

  1. That was really neat! Thanks for sharing all those pictures of your dad. He was definitely one of the “Greatest Generation!”

  2. Barbara Garrett on said:

    My Uncle Harry, truly a hero!!! Love the pictures from 1944. I was born in July of that year. Love, Cuz Bobbie

  3. Pingback: The Tale of a Veteran, His Daughter, and Her Whiskey Dog | Faithinflipflops

Leave a Reply

